Music for the Soul: A Celebration of Philip Glass

April 22, 2018 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm

Annunciation Concert  |  Tickets $20  |  Call 860.278.0785

The final concert in our 2017-18 Concert Series, entitled Music for the Soul: A Celebration of Philip Glass will feature the East Coast premiere of the famed Jewish composer’s new work for piano and string quartet, entitled “Annunciation,” performed by pianist Paul Barnes and the Chiara String Quartet. Drawing upon Barnes’ and Glass’ mutual love of ancient traditions, Glass based the melodic material on the Greek Orthodox Byzantine Hymn for the Annunciation. This new work will add to the numerous musical arrangements over the centuries that have celebrated Mary. Additional selections on the program by Philip Glass include Pendulum, featuring violinist Hyeyung Yoon and pianist Paul Barnes, as well as solo piano works arranged and edited by Barnes. The Chiara String Quartet’s performance will include Nico Muhly’s Diacritical Marks, written for them in 2011. Rounding out this celebratory concert, the AHCC’s Sanctuary Choir and the Cathedral of St. Joseph Schola Cantorum will combine forces to sing Franz Biebl’s Ave Maria, Kevin Siegfried’s Annunciation, Ēriks Ešenvalds’ Magnificat, Bob Chilcott’s So Fair and So Bright, and Paul Basler’s Alleluia.

Agency beneficiary: Habitat for Humanity Hartford, dedicated to eliminating substandard housing locally and worldwide through constructing, rehabilitating, and preserving homes; by advocating for fair and just housing policies; and by providing training and access to resources to help families improve their shelter conditions.

Download and print Concert Series brochure


Mary Way, Ticket Office

Jack Pott, Director of Music & Arts

For iCal compatible calendars