The story has it that in October of 1868, Samuel L. Clemens was taken to an evening reception held by a member of Asylum Hill Church, and as the minister stood close by, Mr. Clemens referred to it (indiscreetly) as the “Church of the Holy Speculators.” Evidently, Mrs. Bliss, Mr. Clemens’ publisher, then introduced the two men . . . thus began a friendship between Rev. Joseph Twichell and the man known as Mark Twain, that lasted until Twain’s death in April of 1910.
As we begin our year of celebration of the 150th anniversary of this very church, we will have the privilege to explore its history and tradition, its heroes and saints, and its challenges and victories.
From Kick-Off Sunday in March of 2015 until early in 2016, the “sesquicentennial” anniversary committee, chaired by Ezra and Chrissie Ripple, will invite every member, every committee, our neighborhood, the City of Hartford . . . the whole state of Connecticut, to join in our celebration. We will honor this milestone in worship, with receptions, classes and field trips, with opportunities for everyone to participate.
150th Anniversary News